Wicca & Witchcraft - Witch's Runes

Most Witches are aware that runes can be used for divination. Most practitioners have seen or used the well known Futhark (or Viking) runes, but did you know that there is actually a set of eight pictgraphic runes solely for use by Witches?

The Witch's runes consist of eight pictographic stones: The Sun, moon, crossed spears, black rune, wave, ear of corn, rings and the birds.

Many Witches use both the Witch's runes and the Futhark runes when divination is called for. To use the Witch's Runes for divination purposes the runes are cast in the manner of dice, casting all of them at once.

A rune is only relevant to a reading if it falls face up, ignore any that are face down. The leading (or most important) rune in a reading is the one furthest from you. If all the runes are face-down, you are not yet meant to know the answer. You should not attempt another reading for at least one week.

Although fewer in number than the more widely known Futhark runes, many people find the Witch's runes much easier to use as they are somewhat simpler to interpret.


The Sun
The Moon
The Rings
The Crossed Spears
Witch's Runes - The Sun
Witch's Runes - The Moon
Witch's Runes - The Rings
Witch's Runes - The Crossed Spears
Success - Progress
Love - Relationships
Arguments - Negativity
The Wave
The Ear Of Corn
The Birds
The Black Rune
Witch's Runes - The Wave
Witch's Runes - The Ear Of Corn
Witch's Runes - The Birds
Witch's Runes - The Black Rune
Friends - Family - Travel
Unexpected news - Change
Good luck - Success
Difficulty - Pain